The BC Oil and Gas Commission (OGC) is a regulatory agency that oversees the oil and gas industry in the province of British Columbia. It is a Crown corporation whose purview includes upstream exploration, downstream development, pipeline transportation and environmental reclamation.

The Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) is the single regulator of energy development in Alberta, with a mandate to provide for the safe, efficient, orderly, and environmentally responsible development” of hydrocarbon resources in the province.1

The National Energy Board (NEB) is Canada’s independent federal regulatory agency that oversees interprovincial and international energy infrastructure, such as pipelines, power lines and Canada’s energy imports. It also regulates oil and gas exploration activities not otherwise under joint federal/provincial accords.2